Press Release:
New London Architecture reveals the capital’s best architectural projects of the last 12 months.

Downloadable PDF

New London Architecture (NLA), the capital’s leading organisation focused on architecture and the built environment, has today announced the shortlist for the annual New London Awards. Comprising the capital’s most innovative and inspiring schemes, this year’s awards see 136 projects across 15 diverse categories, ranging from one-off homes to community buildings, public spaces and major masterplans.

Alphabeta by Studio RHE © Hufton + Crow

London’s only awards to celebrate new projects with the highest architectural quality as well as an outstanding contribution to London, the New London Awards features projects both built and in design – from a bridge across Regent’s Canal, to a church in Hackney and a Centre for Children with Cerebal Palsy in Muswell Hill.

Category winners and the Overall Winner will be announced at the NLA Annual Lunch at the Guildhall on the 7 July. Special awards will include the New Londoner presentation to the person who made a significant contribution to the capital in 2016, last year awarded to Zaha Hadid; the Mayor’s Prize for the project that has most creatively contributed to London’s economy; and the Ashden Prize, awarded to the most energy efficient project.

An exhibition of all shortlisted schemes will open at the NLA Galleries at The Building Centre, WC1 from 3 June. This year, for the first time, Londoners will be able to select their favourite, culminating in the announcement of the People’s Choice Award in conjunction with the London Festival of Architecture. Votes can be cast throughout June, in person at the New London Awards exhibition, or via Twitter using #NLAwards16 @NLAlondon

London Centre for Children with Cerebral Palsy by PH+ Architects

High profile projects in this year’s awards include the transformations of Battersea Power Station and the London Olympic Stadium, as well as the new 46-storey office The Leadenhall Building, and the Francis Crick Institute biomedical research centre in King’s Cross.

Other significant schemes to compete in the awards this year include Crossrail Place by Foster + Partners, The Wellcome Collection by WilkinsonEyre, and Shaftesbury Theatre by Bennetts Associates.

The regeneration of King’s Cross continues to make waves with several projects in the area making this year’s shortlist, including Coal Drops Yard by Heatherwick Studio; German Gymnasium by Allies and Morrison and Conran and Partners; and The Plimsoll Building by David Morley Architects, all receiving nominations.

Housing provision continues to be a critical issue for London, with varied  residential projects featuring prominently on this year’s shortlist. The regeneration of the South Kilburn estate is marked by Alison Brooks Architects’ Ely Court project, whilst the Somerleyton Road project proposes the creation of over 300 homes in Brixton, together with a range of community facilities – designed by a consortium of architects: Metropolitan Workshop, Haworth Tompkins, Mae, Foster Wilson Architects and Zac Monro Architects.

Ely Court by Alison Brooks Architects © Paul Riddle

Creative and innovative workplaces feature heavily on this year’s shortlist, as London-based companies seek to attract and retain the capital’s best talent within an increasingly expensive city. They range from the conversion of listed buildings to newly built spaces, as demonstrated by the redevelopment of Triton Court on Finsbury Square which resulted in the creation of Alphabeta by Studio RHE, whilst Piercy&Company’s Turnmill now occupies the Farringdon site of the infamous Turnmills nightclub.

New insertions to London’s existing fabric is particularly apparent within the Conservation & Retrofit category, which includes SODA’s restoration of a Dean Street townhouse to create a new outpost for Soho House, and the addition of a 3-storey glass dome to create a striking new workplace within the Grade II-listed Ford garage in Shepherd’s Bush by ColladoCollins Architects.

The rude health of London’s burgeoning arts sector is reflected by the strong offering in this year’s Culture and Community category. The shortlist includes Picturehouses in both Crouch End and East Dulwich, both by Panter Hudspith, libraries in Camberwell and Willesden Green, by John McAslan+Partners and Allford Hall Monaghan Morris respectively, alongside larger institutions such as the new Gagosian Gallery in Grosvenor Hill by TateHindle.

The Francis Crick Institute by HOK

The Education category features primary, secondary and tertiary institutions across the capital, and demonstrates an innovative sector working in the constraints of funding cutbacks. From Lyndhurst Primary School by Cottrell and Vermeulen Architects, to Channing School by BuckleyGrayYeoman and Richmond Adult Community College by Duggan Morris Architects, the list reflects the development of both public and private centres of educational excellence for all ages.

London’s world-renowned retail and restaurant scene is also celebrated by this year’s shortlist, with varied nominations demonstrated by Chicken Town – a non-profit outlet in a converted fire station created by Assemble Studios – and The Borough Market Cookhouse by DLA Architects.

Following their 2015 RIBA Stirling Prize win, Allford Hall Monaghan Morris can celebrate five nominations, a feat matched by Peter Barber Architects. Coffey Architects and Karakusevic Carson Architects have both secured four nominations, followed by Allies and Morrison with three. The shortlist also features prominent global architectural practices including Gensler, HOK and SOM, alongside emerging homegrown practices including Hayhurst and Co, Bell Phillips Architects, and Lipton Plant Architects.


@nlalondon   @carocomms

Press and interview requests

Press Office at Caro Communications, 020 7713 9388

Philip Sorensen,

Gloria Roberts,

Notes to Editors

New London Awards jury members:

Peter Murray, Chairman, New London Architecture

Dominique Alba, Director, l’Atelier Parisien d’Urbanisme

David J Burney, Professor of Planning and Placemaking, Pratt Institute School of Architecture, New York City

Riccardo Marini, Senior Consultant, Gehl Architects

Monica von Schmalensee, CEO, White Arkitekter


Sponsor Information:

The New London Awards are supported by the Mayor of London and sponsored by Ashden, Broadgate Estates, Hoare Lea, IFC Group, Turley, and Urban Space Management.


About New London Architecture

New London Architecture (NLA) is an independent forum for discussion, debate and information about architecture, planning, development and construction in the capital. Our core mission is to bring people together to shape a better city. Over the last decade NLA has established itself as a broker between all those involved in planning and designing the future of London and an influential promoter of positive physical change. NLA is based at The Building Centre in central London where our giant interactive model of central London is free to visit six days a week. @nlalondon